Week 11/52 : “Non est ad astra mollis e terris via”

The quote in the title is by the Roman philosopher Lucius Annaeus Seneca. It translates to “there is no easy way from the earth to the stars”. I chose it because I think it serves as a nice reminder that we have to work for our dreams. I’m the type of person who will always chose the most convenient path (or in Physics terms, “the path of least resistance”). It doesn’t matter where it will take me, just as long as it requires the least amount of effort. I realized that while this may lead to an easy life, it doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the life I want. I’ve mentioned numerous times on this blog how frustrated I am that I have no goal, nothing to aim for. I think the reason I’m too scared to dream is because I know that having big dreams always mean lots of hard work. But maybe that’s something I’m willing to face now.

Last week I mentioned that I wanted a self portrait with stars, and here it is. This is all thanks to my recent obsession with the K-drama You Who Came From The Stars. It’s been about two weeks since I finished it but I still can’t get over how much I love that show. I was able to get Brinks to watch it and so far she seems to be enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

