Review : Milani Multitasker Face Powder

IMG_8355

This is more like a first impression than a review since I only used the product for three days.  But I just like it so much that I had to write this entry.

A lot of makeup gurus on YouTube have mentioned this in their monthly favorites so I figured I’d give it a try.  I actually picked this up last year, back when I was running low on my Maybelline Powder Foundation.  But for some reason I only opened this a few weeks ago

IMG_8356

I bought it from Walmart and I can’t remember how much I got it for, but according to their site it should be around $7

I normally prefer BB creams and liquid foundation, but since it’s summer I haven’t been in the mood to put anything too heavy on my face.  I figured if this has good coverage, I can skip the BB cream/foundation.

IMG_8377

I like the fact that the sponge comes in a separate compartment.  I know it makes for a bulkier packaging, but I feel it’s more sanitary this way.

IMG_8371

I also love the print on the actual powder.  I think it looks very elegant.

 

IMG_8369

The shade I picked up was Light Tan (#4).  Each compact comes with 10.5g of product.

This is what the Milani website has to say about this product

A luxurious, velvet-soft face powder, specially formulated to provide a dimensional yet natural-matte finish. Provides perfect light to medium coverage.

 I gotta say I agree with their description.  The powder is very smooth and silky, and it gives a nice matte finish.  The sponge it comes with is quite soft an applies the product nicely.  Coverage-wise, I’m quite impressed.  It evened out my skin tone without looking too heavy or cakey.  It does have a bit of a floral scent, which some people might not like, but I’m not bothered by it.

Here’s what it looks like on my face:

DSC09760 copy

 The picture on the left is my bare face, while the picture on the right is after I used the powder (I also fixed my brows).  Pretty good right?  Skin tone is even, acne scars are concealed, and I don’t look oily.

 This powder didn’t break me out, which is another plus.  My only complaint is that their shades tend to run a bit on the darker side.  I expected “light tan” to work well for my skin tone, but it’s way too dark for me.  I tried it for three days to see if I could work with it, but my face didn’t match my neck at all.  In the end I decided to just go ahead and give it to a friend.  She’s been using it since then and she loves it.  I see her everyday at the office and it looks great on her.  I’m definitely going to have to go and pick up another one of these in a lighter shade.

GOPR0875_1396086943100_high

Look how dark my face is compared to my sister.  Our skin tones are pretty close when we’re not wearing makeup.

But aside from the shade, I have no complaints about this powder.  I like how it conceals my acne scars, and how it looks in photos:

GOPR0882_1396086989355_high

DSC_2455

DSC_2457

 So to summarize, here’s what I liked about this product:

  • Affordable
  • Handy packaging
  • Has good coverage
  • Matte finish
  • Feels light on the face

What I didn’t like:

  • Aside from the fact that I picked up the wrong shade, nothing really.

Will I repurchase :

  • Definitely, in a lighter shade this time.
Leave a Reply

