Book Review : More Than This

morethanthis

I rarely do book reviews these days, but I finished this the other day and I still haven’t moved on so I figured I should write a quick entry about it to get it out of my system.

This is a story about how a young girl’s entire world shattered in one evening, and how she managed to piece it back together with the help of some amazing people.  It’s a story about fate, destiny, love, friendship and family. It’s about accepting our weaknesses and finding our strengths and moving on.

From the very beginning, I was immediately intrigued because the main character is part Filipino.  It doesn’t really play a huge role in the story but I rarely come across books with Filipino characters.  I think the last one I read with a character who was part Filipino was from the Georgina Kincaid series, and she was just a minor character.  Then I learned that Mikayla’s favorite book is The Sea of Tranquility, which was my favorite book of 2013.  (You can read my review HERE).  I actually had to put the book down when she mentioned this and tell all the people around me that Mikayla Jones loves The Sea of Tranquility and Josh Bennet as much as I do.  Instant connection, right there.  Throw in a hot guy with a sexy accent to the mix and I didn’t stand a chance.  I really enjoyed the writing too.  It was very enchanting and I felt like I was putting together a puzzle in my mind.  Within the first few chapters, I experienced a whirlwind of feelings and emotions.  Anger, happiness, joy, and pain … so much pain.

I loved the characters in this book.  I admire Mikayla for being so strong.  She lost so much in one evening, and at such a young age, but she managed to keep her head up and find a way to move on.  And I love Jake because, seriously, what’s not to love?  Hot guy, sexy accent, athletic discipline, kind, supportive, caring and a family guy.  I respect the fact that he never pushed Mikayla to do something she wasn’t ready for. He always let her know know that he will be there to support her no matter what path she chooses.  It’s kind of unbelievable that a guy she only knew for 24 hours would take her under his wing and help her get through something so horrible.  But then again, there are genuinely nice people out there.  Jay McLean undoubtedly created Jake Andrews to give female readers someone to drool over.

I really enjoyed reading about Jake’s friends and family too.  His friends are awesome and I’m glad that Jay McLean decided to write separate books for them 😀  I’ve definitely got those on my “To-Read” list on Goodreads.  I also loved Jake’s family, especially his parents.  In most NA books, the parents are usually out of the picture, which gives the characters an excuse to do as they wish and deal with their problems alone.  But this book showed that you can still grow as an individual and make your own decisions, even with adult supervision.  I love how Mandy and Nathan played a big part in both Jake and Mickayla’s lives.

Jake and Mikayla’s love for each other was wonderful.  I loved seeing how their friendship developed and how they realized that they were meant for each other.  Although I was a bit frustrated at how they couldn’t come right out and admit their love to each other.   They could have saved themselves a lot of pain if they stopped being so insecure and just admit their feelings.  But to be fair, they were only 18/19, and at that age I didn’t know how to handle my feelings either.  I understand that Mikayla was trying to be independent and not lean on Jake so much, and I respect her for that.  Also, I had to remind myself several times that she had just gotten out of a 4-year relationship, and it’s a good thing that she and Jake didn’t immediately get together because that would mean that he was just her rebound.

Jay McLean is obviously a fan of Katja Millay.  This book had a very similar feel to The Sea of Tranquility, and I think that was one of the main reasons I loved it.  (It reminded me so much of TSOT that I ended up re-reading it for the 4th time after finishing this book). Both books had a dual POV and were very engaging (I loved the playful banter between characters).  They also had similar themes of moving on and finding second chances in life – although to be fair, most NA books are centered around this theme.  One thing that’s different from TSOT was that this book was loaded with sexual tension and activity – and it was very explicit.  TSOT mentions sex, but doesn’t really go into detail.  This book didn’t blow me away like TSOT, but I still loved it and couldn’t put it down until I finished it.  So for my rating, I would give this book 4.8 out of 5 stars.

To end this entry, here are some quotes from the book that I really enjoyed.

“And if you were still here today, I would tell you, that in your future, do not settle for anything less than the Jake Andrews of the world. Because they exist, and not just in fairytales.”

“Death changes everyone.
It changes the way you think, the way you feel, and the way you live your life. Sometimes it makes you thankful for what you have, but more often than not, it makes you regret the things you’ve lost.”

He makes things hurt a little less. He… he’s home for me right now. If being around him takes the pain away just a tiny bit, then it doesn’t matter how or why he’s here with me

“So that when you found your Jake Andrews, you would know. You would know what it felt like to stand in front of your forever.”

.

Leave a Reply

