Glenda aftermath

It’s been a week since Typhoon Glenda hit the Philippines, and we’re still trying to recover from the devastation it brought upon us in the CALABARZON region.  Several places are still without power (including our house), and the roads are still littered with all sorts of debris.  The Philippines is known to be visited by several typhoons every year, so I’ve experienced my fair share of them, but this was the first time that I was legitimately scared during one.

The typhoon reached our area around midnight, and by then it wasn’t that strong yet.  I figured it would be another one of our garden variety typhoons.  Two hours later I woke up because our neighbor’s fence had collapsed and the wind was making it trash around and hit the window above my head.  By this time the power had gone out and the storm had gotten much worse.  I tried to block out the sound by wearing headphones and blasting music on my iPod, but I still couldn’t sleep because I could literally feel our entire house shaking due to the wind.  I closed my curtains because the sight of our palm tree convulsing on our front lawn freaked me out.

I knew I wasn’t going to be able to sleep that night so I just laid in bed and braced myself for the long and scary night ahead.  Apparently I wasn’t the only one with this plan.  My sister walked in my room a few minutes later and told me that she couldn’t sleep because she was worried about our house.  We went to our parents’ room to check to see how they were doing and found them lying in bed, wide awake.  My dad’s sisters were visiting us from California and they couldn’t sleep either.  They were so scared and asked us if this was normal. We spent the night making sure all the windows were closed and checking up on different parts of the house.  At around 4am, my room started leaking so I had to move my stuff out, including my mattress.  The wind subsided around 6am, but it started up again around 7am.  It was a lot less terrifying since the sun had risen and the whole house was awake by this time, but it was still awful.  Glenda finally left us alone around 10am, and we went outside to check the damage.

DSC_0267

The palm tree in front of our house collapsed.  It’s been there ever since I can remember and it has survived dozens of typhoons, but it wasn’t strong enough to withstand Glenda

DSC_0257

Poor palm tree

DSC_0289

The rest of our plants didn’t fare too well either:

DSC_0254

DSC_0258

DSC_0266

This is what happened to the roof above my bedroom window:

DSC_0260

DSC_0276

I have no idea how the wind managed to crumple our roof like this

DSC_0345

As a result, this is what the ceiling in my room looks like 😦

Glenda did a lot of damage to our house, but my grandparents’ old house in Tanauan had it much worse.

DSC_0307

tanauan4

DSC_0310

tanauan3

tanauan

tanauan2

 Hello sky!

We spent an entire day trying to clean up the house in Tanauan.  It’s still in pretty bad shape and we’ll probably have to go back there sometime this week to finish what we started.

I know that despite all this, we were one of the lucky ones.  Some people lost all their belongings, their homes and even loved ones. Another typhoon graced us with its presence yesterday, but luckily it didn’t affect us as much.  We’ve got another one coming in this weekend, and I can only hope that it’s not as strong as Glenda.

7 thoughts on “Glenda aftermath

  1. Pingback: Week 24/52 : Life’s roughest storms prove the strength of our anchors | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: INSTABITS : September 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

  3. Pingback: Week 41/52 : Am I pretty yet? | What I have shown you is reality ...

  4. Pingback: Books Read in 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

  5. Pingback: Looking back on 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

