Week 24/52 : Life’s roughest storms prove the strength of our anchors

This manipulation was obviously inspired by the recent weather here in the Philippines. Over the past week, we’ve had two typhoons, and we’re expecting another one this weekend. I’ve already written a blog post about what Glenda did to our house and my grandparents’ house, which you can read HERE.

We finally have power at our house again, yay! Let me tell you, living a week without electricity is no fun. It wasn’t even about not being able to get online or play games or watch TV. I thought that those would be what I missed the most, but I was wrong. I missed our washing machine, our microwave, our fridge and our electric fan. Our dirty laundry piled up because it was so much harder having to wash them by hand. And having to go to the market and cook every day was no walk in the park, but we had no choice because we can’t have leftovers since they would spoil easily in our hot and humid climate. But now the power’s back and I can’t be happier. Hopefully this means I can edit the rest of my self portraits soon.  (Although, looking on the bright side, having nothing to do at home meant I was able to brainstorm and come up with a couple of new ideas for my 52-week project :D)

I had fun shooting and editing this. I had to piece different parts of my body together during post processing since it wasn’t easy to pose as if you’re being carried off by the wind. And I had to paint almost all my hair on since I couldn’t use the fan when I shot this. But I really like how it turned out.

Here are the stocks I used for this image:

Leave a Reply

