Week 33/52 : Disguise is always a self portrait

I’m not too sure about how I feel about this photo. I really liked it after I finished editing it and I couldn’t wait to post it, but now I’m having second thoughts. It’s been sitting in my laptop for over 2 weeks and I feel like it lacks something. But I can’t figure out what I should do, so I might as well upload it instead of fixating on it.

I’ve always wanted to do a self portrait with face paint, but I don’t own any. I see them being sold at National Bookstore but I’m worried that they will break me out. So, for this shot, I ended up using eyeshadow. It was a very messy shoot! The powder got everywhere – my hair, my clothes, my camera. I’d like to say that it was worth it, but I’m not so sure. I used silver eyeshadow because I still have a lot of it left and I know that I probably won’t use it for anything else. I changed it to black during post processing.

The quote in my title is from BBC’s Sherlock.  It’s something Irene Adler said after Sherlock showed up at her house wearing a vicar costume and a black eye.

 

Leave a Reply

