Week 35/52 : Mistakes are proof that you are trying

I found this quote online and I liked it so much that I had to shoot a self portrait based on it.  I just wish I knew who said it.

This quote really spoke to me because I’m one of those people who are so scared of making mistakes that sometimes I choose not to things because I’m terrified of failing. It’s a horrible way to live, I know. This way of thinking has stopped me from doing a lot of things in the past – and I feel like I’ve missed out on so much because of it. But lately, I’ve been trying to convince myself that mistakes happen all the time. As long as we own up to them and correct them, then it should be fine. It’s all part of the learning process. Life goes on, right?

Originally I planned on holding an eraser, but I couldn’t find one that day so I ended up using a pencil. It bothers me a bit that my hands look a little awkward (since I was holding a thin stick in place of the pencil when I took the picture) but I actually really like the final image. The notebook I’m “standing” on is one that I used during my MS studies in 2009. It was for my Thermodynamics class – one of my hardest subjects back then. But it was also one of my favorite subjects since we had a really good teacher and my classmates were all very kind and helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

