Week 44/52 : I know what it’s like to be afraid of your own mind

(Quote is by Spencer Reid from Criminal Minds)

This image was partly inspired by the book Tears of Tess by Pepper Winters. It’s a very dark and disturbing book, and I probably won’t be reading the second one in the series. Not because it’s bad or anything, I just prefer novels with a lighter plot. But the book did leave a very strong impression on me (probably because I haven’t read many others like it). It’s about a girl who goes to Mexico with her boyfriend, where she ends up kidnapped and sold as a sex slave.

Here’s an excerpt from a summary I found on Goodreads:

Kidnapped. Drugged. Stolen. Tess is forced into a world full of darkness and terror.

Captive and alone with no savior, no lover, no faith, no future, Tess evolves from terrified girl to fierce fighter. But no matter her strength, it can’t save her from the horror of being sold.

Like I said, the story’s a little disturbing, but its written beautifully and it will definitely stick with me for a long time.

Photoshop brushes are by http://www.obsidiandawn.com

One thought on “Week 44/52 : I know what it’s like to be afraid of your own mind

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : November 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

