Book Review : Black Lies

22471294

I don’t really know if this counts as a review or not because it’s going to be really short.  I’m swamped with deadlines but I just had to tell everyone about this book.  It’s *that* amazing. This is one of those stories that I will remember for a long, long time.

It will be difficult to write this entry without giving out any spoilers, but I promise there won’t be any.  Instead of trying to summarize the story and risk giving anything away, here’s the actual blurb from Goodreads, just so you have an idea what the book is about:

Brant: Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years. Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee: Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his cock. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails. If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.

Honestly, I was very apprehensive after reading the blurb because I don’t condone cheating.  I have no idea why some people find it romantic or thrilling, I just think its despicable. I hate it so much that I’ve actually abandoned books before because the main character was so unfaithful.  But this popped up in my recommendations on Goodreads, and it had incredibly high ratings so I wanted to at least give it a chance before dismissing it.  Words can’t express how glad I am that I did.

This book took me on an emotional rollercoaster.  It was beautifully written and the author did an amazing job telling the story while unraveling its secrets layer by layer.  The characters she created were all incredible too.  I loved Brant.  He was sweet, caring, intelligent, refined, and rich as hell.  I’m talking Tony Stark/Bruce Wayne kind of rich.  Hell, he gave his girlfriend 3 cars as a present and booked a 30 thousand plane ride home just because she wasn’t feeling well.  I don’t think there was a moment in the story when I didn’t love him. With that, you would expect me to despise Lee, the “other guy”.  To be honest, I did hate him for a while, when he first showed up.  How dare he walk in and ruin the beautiful relationship between Brant and Layana.  But, as the story progressed, I grew to love him too.  He was the complete opposite of Brant – rough, crude and a little selfish, but something about him draws you in.  And then there’s Layana, the heroine.  You will love her and you will hate her. You will question her and you may think that she’s the absolute worst.  Personally, I think she’s amazing.  I suggest that you keep an open mind when you read this book.  There were moments when I doubted Layana’s love for Brant and Lee.  After all, why would she do something that would obviously cause them so much pain.  But as the story progressed, I realized how deep her love was for Brant and Lee, and how much pain she was willing to go through for both of them.  I don’t know what I would have done if I was placed her situation.  She is definitely one of my favorite characters of all time.

Black lies is about love and hate, selfishness and selflessness, loyalty and betrayal, lies and  honesty.  It shows readers that there are always two sides to every story, and that we shouldn’t be too quick to judge.  Sometimes there are secrets so deep that they will blow your mind when you learn the truth.  The author did an extraordinary job with the intricacy of the secrets in this story.  They were so complex that I had to read the whole book again from the beginning because learning the secret changed everything.  Once it was revealed, everything suddenly clicked into place.  It was so mind-blowing and unexpected that it felt like I had a rug pulled out from under me when I learned the truth. I literally had goosebumps!  The author was very generous with leaving the readers with clues, but she did it so brilliantly that you wouldn’t even realize how significant those little things were.  I’ve been re-reading certain chapters again and I keep thinking “Why didn’t I catch that before?”  I know that there are going to be some people who will figure out the big secret early on, but I suggest that you don’t try too hard to solve the mystery and just enjoy the story.  But, even if you do figure out the twist in the story early on, you will still enjoy it.

This book is beautiful, powerful and definitely memorable. Given that there’s only a few more weeks left in 2014, I think it’s safe to say that this will be my favorite book for the year.  I give this a definite 5 out of 5 stars.  If you have the chance, give this book a try.  (Warning to young readers : this book is very explicit.)

To end this entry, here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

“True love makes a person reckless, makes them take risks and make sacrifices. True love tests the boundaries of our person, makes us yearn to be better and fight for the ground we stand on. I will fight for this love. Lie for it. Steal for it. It’s worthy of that.”

“I don’t love you despite this. I love you, including this.”

“Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails. I love two men. I fuck two men. If you think you’ve heard this story before, you haven’t”

“I loved you. I still love you. Even when I hate you, I love you. I always will. I’m not a smart man, but I know that.”

2 thoughts on “Book Review : Black Lies

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : December 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: Books Read in 2014 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

