Looking back on 2014

I’m finally posting this.  As some of you may know, I write a wrap up entry every year here on my blog.  I do it so I can look back on the important and memorable events which took place in those 12 months.  Here’s my entry for 2014.  Some of the items on my list are linked to blog entries I posted previously.  I’m still catching up on blogging so some of the later events don’t have entries yet.

January

IMG_7195aIMG_7375a (1)

March

  • My highschool friends, Eugene and Cherry, were visiting the Philippines at the time and I was able to have dinner with them 😀
  • IMSP held the first IMSP All Stars Concert to celebrate our 30th foundation day. I’m not much of a dancer but I had a lot of fun performing with the people I work with.

April

  • My first two thesis advisees successfully defended their work and passed, yay 😀
  • Celebrated April’s birthday by having lunch at Baan Thai
  • Celebrated Ezra and Kurt’s birthday
  • Went to California for the summer.  Kurt took us to Third Street Promenade in Santa Monica and Little Tokyo on our first weekend there

IMG_9051

IMG_9131a

May

IMG_9875

IMG_0535a (3)

IMG_1602a (4)

June

  • Ckloy and I were reunited after being 6 months apart 😀
  • Attended the ToyCon with the cousins

July

  • Went to Boracay. We had a lot of fun snorkeling and paddle boarding 😀
  • Typhoon Glenda hit the Philippines and left a lot of damage in its wake 😦
  • Went to Liliw with Ninang to go shoe shopping 😀

IMG_5410

DSC_0307

DSC_0345

August

  • Amie and I went to UPD to visit our adviser, Ma’am Cherry.  It’s been months since I’ve been to UPD, I didn’t realize how much I missed it.
  • Classes resumed after a 4-month break (we shifted academic calendars this year) 😀  During registration I was asked to be an enlistor for the first time
  • IMSP held a Symposium on Ultrafast Spectroscopy and I was part of the organizing committee

September

  • Watched the last two Rurouni Kenshin movies. They were awesome~
  • Celebrated my birthday with the family
  • Spent an afternoon with Kat at Festival Mall before she had to leave for Sweden
  • Volunteered as an exhibitor for IMSP’s SyenSaya exhibit : The Physics and Math in Origami

October

  • Joined the UPLB Loyalty Day parade
  • My parents went on a Japanese Cruise to celebrate my mom’s birthday, and returned with lots of pasalubong 😀
  • Went to Baguio with Amie and Dustin to attend the 3rd MOVE Symposium (where Dustin won 3rd place in the poster competition).  We also had a lot of fun walking around the city and looking for good ukay finds
  • Played around at Enchanted Kingdom with other Physics faculty members (and Ezra) for NASC 3’s field trip

November

  • Watched Big Hero 6 with Ckloy – it was adorable~
  • Presented a poster at the 7th CAS Student-Faculty Research Conference

December

On the whole, I can say that I’ve had a great year. I made new friends, visited some amazing places, learned new things and created some wonderful memories.  Last year there were a lot of moments when  felt depressed and confused about life, but I’m happy to report that this year was much better.  I think it’s probably because I promised myself (at the end of 2013) that I will make a genuine effort to be happier in 2014.  I’m usually quite the pessimist but I think I did a great job focusing on the positives this year.  I tried doing the 365 Grateful project, which required me to think of one think that I’m grateful for each day.  I wasn’t able to do it religiously, but I did keep a journal where I would occasionally write down small things that made me happy.  Even if I did end up skipping a few days, it allowed me to see how fortunate I am to be surrounded by people who love and support me.  And it made me realize how many great opportunities I’m presented with each day.  I think having the proper mindset helped a great deal in making 2014 wonderful for me, so I’m definitely going to be continuing the 365 Grateful Project for 2015.  I’m expecting a lot of big changes in my life this upcoming year. I normally avoid change like the plague, but I know that it’s inevitable, so I definitely need all the positive thoughts I can muster.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

