Books Read in 2014

In this post I have compiled all the books I read in 2014. This took a while to put together because I’m terrible at summarizing and rating books.

Roomies (Sara Zarr, Tara Altebrando) – A story about two girls who was assigned to be roomates in college and how they got to know each other through email.  I couldn’t relate to them that much since I never had the dorm experience, but it was still a nice read. 3.5 out of 5 stars

If You Find Me (Emily Murdoch) – About two girls who grew up in the woods after their mother hid them there.  Their father eventually found them and brought them back to civilization where they struggled to adapt to regular society. 3 out of 5 stars

Some Girls Are (Courtney Summers) – Highschool life and drama. A popular girl loses her popularity and had to turn to the people she used to bully for comfort. 3 out of 5 stars

Falling for the Ghost of You (Nicole Christie) – Generic story of a playboy and an innocent girl who try to fight the odds. 2.8 out of 5 stars

Split (Swati Avasthi) – A story about domestic violence and how two brothers manage to escape their abusive father.  4.3 out of 5 stars

Cruel Beauty (Rosamund Hodge) – Goodreads describes it as “Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast” so I had high hopes for this.  Unfortunately I didn’t enjoy it as much as I hoped.  I skipped a lot of parts that confused me. 2.6 out of 5 stars.

Better off Friends (Elizabeth Eulberg) – Macallan and Levi became friends instantly when Levi transferred to her school. Everyone knows they should be together, but they’re too scared to ruin their friendship.  A light and fluffy read.  I enjoyed this a lot. 4.5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Mistake (Chelsea M. Cameron) – This had a high rating on Goodreads but it was just another generic college romance story. 2 out of 5 stars

Wonder (R.J. Palacio) – This is one of my favorite books for 2014.  It took me a while to get through it because it’s not the typical love stories I like to read, but once I got into it I couldn’t put it down.  It’s about a little boy with a disfigured face, and how he touches the lives of people around him.  It was such a heartwarming story and it made me cry more times than I could count. I wrote a short review which you can read HERE. I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Making Faces (Amy Harmon) – This is a story about a girl who was in love with the town’s resident pretty boy, but things changed when he left and returned with a different face than what people remembered.  I abandoned this book halfway through – not because it was horrible, but simply because I didn’t enjoy it that much and I didn’t want to waste my time on it.  I give it 2 out of 5 stars.

Me Before You (Jojo Moyes) – Lou Clark gets a job taking care of Will Traynor, a cynical paraplegic who lost his desire to live.  It took me a while to get through the first part of this book because it dealt with some heavy issues, but once I reached the halfway point I just couldn’t put it down.  Like Wonder, this book made me shed so many tears.  I had to lock myself in my room to finish the last few chapters in peace, and by the time I came out my eyes were puffy and swollen.  I give this 4.7 out of 5 stars.

We Were Liars (E. Lockhart) – This book was pretty popular on Goodreads and I see it a lot in the Bestsellers section of National Bookstore.  I wasn’t as impressed with it though.  I was bored for the majority of the story and only started to enjoy it towards the end. There was too much mystery and I felt confused for the most part.  Although I gotta say, the last part of the book was pretty interesting.  3.5 out of 5 stars

Playing for Keeps (R.L. Mathewson ) – The ratings for this book on Goodreads is incredibly high, so I was shocked to discover that this book read like a poorly written fanfic.  It was funny, fluffy and (in some parts) ridiculous.  I couldn’t believe that the characters in the story were adults because they behaved like children most of the time.  1.5 out of 5 stars.

Like Gravity (Julie Johnson) – I remember reading this book, but I couldn’t remember what it was about until I read the reviews from other people.  I guess that’s a clear sign of how unmemorable this was.  Considering how much I love NA romance, this didn’t do it for me at all. 1.5 out of 5 stars.

There is No Light in Darkness (Claire Contreras) – Another book that I remember reading but can’t recall the story unless I read  other people’s reviews. But I do remember that this ended on a cliffhanger and I didn’t even bother looking up the next book in the series because I didn’t really care about the story that much.  1.4 out of 5 stars.

Almost Home (Joan Bauer) – I normally really enjoy pre-teen stories because they’re light and fun to read, but this one dealt with some serious issues.  I think the main reason I picked this book up was because of the cute dog on the cover. It’s not something I enjoyed, but I do admire Sugar for her strength and wisdom. 3 out of 5 stars

Divergent Series (Veronica Roth) – I think most people have seen the movie by now and are familiar with the story.  I LOVED the first book (and the movie adaptation).  The idea of the 4 factions and the choosing ceremony was awesome.  I’ve been wondering what faction I’ll be in and I’m guessing it would either be Erudite or Amity.  I give the first book a definite 5 out of 5 stars. But the 2nd and 3rd book wasn’t that great. I give both 3 out of 5 stars.

Four: A Divergent Story Collection [Divergent, #0.1 – 0.4] (Veronica Roth) – After Divergent I went ahead and read this to get Four’s side of the story. This included The Transfer, The Initiate, The Son and The Traitor. They’re all really short stories but they give us an insight on Four’s mind.  I give this 5 out of 5 stars.

Free Four: Tobias Tells the Divergent Knife-Throwing Scene [Divergent, #1.5] (Veronica Roth) – Another short story that accompanies the Divergent series.  This one tells us what was going on in Four’s mind during the knife-throwing scene of the first book.  5 out of 5 stars

Price of a Kiss (Linda Kage) – This is the first book of the Forbidden Men series.  It’s about a girl who ends up falling in love with a gigolo. I liked it a lot. 4.2 out of 5 stars

To Professor, with Love (Linda Kage) – I didn’t read this immediately after Price of a Kiss, but since they’re from the same series (Forbidden Men) I figured I’d talk about this next. The title should be a clear indication of what the story is about.  At first I expected it to be about a college girl falling in love with her professor, but it was actually the other way around.  Aspen Kavanaugh is a young professor and Noel Gamble is her student.  Warning : some scenes can get a little explicit. 4.5 out of 5 stars

More series (Jay McLean) – There are 4 books in this series, and I’m hoping there will be more. I LOVED the first book (More Than This).  I wrote a review on it which you can read HERE.  It reminded me a lot of my favorite book of 2013 (The Sea of Tranquility).  I loved Kayla and Jake and I give this book a definite 5 out of 5 stars.  The second and third book focused on Logan and Amanda’s relationship.  There was too much sex and not enough plot in my opinion. I give both 2.5 out of 5 stars.  The fourth book was Cam’s and Lucy’s story (More Than Forever). I’m glad I gave it a chance because after the 2nd and 3rd book I was ready to give up on this series.  I loved it and I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

Loving Mr. Daniels (Brittainy C. Cherry) – Another student-teacher love story. I’m a sucker for these, what can I say.  I really liked this one.  I give it 4.8 out of 5 stars.

Veiled Innocence (Ella Frank) – Yes, another student-teacher love story.  This is one of those stories that will stick with you for a long time.  Addison’s character is just so twisted and it made the book very interesting.  I wrote a review on this which you can read HERE. I enjoyed this one A LOT. 4.9 out of 5 stars

Maybe Someday (Colleen Hoover) – This had extremely high ratings on Goodreads, and Colleen Hoover seems pretty popular in the NA/YA genre so I gave this a try.  I enjoyed it, but I didn’t love it. 4 out of 5 stars.

The Art of Racing in the Rain (Garth Stein) – I read this because one of the people I follow on Youtube recommended it. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy it at all, despite the cute dog on the cover.  The story is written in the dog’s perspective, so I thought that would make it interesting.  But the book used a lot of references to racing that I’m not familiar with.  1.5 out of 5 stars.

When it Rains (Lisa De Jong) – Generic new adult romance. 2.5 out of 5 stars

Leo (Mia Sheridan) – Another generic new adult romance. I didn’t like this one at all and I can’t believe I finished it. 1.5 out of 5 stars

Raw (Belle Aurora) – I thought the idea of falling in love with your stalker seemed a little creepy, but the story was okay.  I’m getting a little bored with dominating alpha male characters though. (3 out of 5 stars)

The Only Alien on the Planet (Kristen D. Randle) – The story is about a girl named Ginny who moves to a new school, where she meets Smitty Tibs – a brilliant boy who refuses to speak to anyone. 3.8 out of 5 stars

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Jenny Han) – One of my favorite books this year. Lara Jean decides to write a letter to all the boys she’s loved in the past, explaining why she loved them and how she got over them.  She never meant for anyone to read her letters, but for some reason they got mailed out.  Now, she has a bunch of confused boys who want to speak to her.  Very light and cute story. 4.8 out of 5 stars

That Boy (Jillian Dodd) – Another one of my favorite books from 2014.  It’s written in the POV of JJ, who lives next door to two boys – Phillip and Danny. They grew up together and went through a lot together. I’m having a hard time writing a summary, so I’ll just paste the blurb below:

“One boy will give me my very first kiss.
One boy will teach me to make out.
One boy will take me to prom.
And finally, one boy will ask me to marry him.
They will both be my best friends.
But only one of them will be the boy I fall in love with.
Only one of them is That Boy.”

5 out of 5 stars.

That Wedding (Jillian Dodd) – This is the sequel to That Boy. I expected it to be just as good, but I was so wrong.  I barely made it through this one. JJ turned into such a ditzy, whining, idiot in this book. I  didn’t even bother reading the third book beccause this was so bad. 1 out of 5 stars

If I Stay (Gayle Forman) – I decided to read this after hearing that the movie will be out soon.  (Which reminds me, I haven’t seen it yet.) Everyone was talking about it so I expected something amazing, but it was just okay.  I cried a few times of course, but not as much as I expected. 3 out of 5 stars

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Jenny Han) – Since I loved To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, I decided to start reading her Summer series. Unfortunately I didn’t like this at all. The characters have no depth and the story is mediocre. 1 out of 5 stars.

Flat-Out Celeste (Jessica Park) – The third book in the series. I read Flat Out Love and Flat Out Matt in 2012 and 2013, and I enjoyed them, so I decided to give this a try.  I really liked Celeste’s character.  She was brilliant, adorably awkward and sweet.  The story didn’t blow me away, but I enjoyed it.  3.5 out of 5 stars

Fifty Shades of Grey (E.L. James) – Yep, I gave in and decided to read this monstrosity. Despite the bad reviews, I decided to start the book with an open mind, but I barely got through it.  I knew that the characters were horrible, but I was expecting some steamy/romantic scenes at least. Sad to say, they were kind of boring. The only thing I sort of enjoyed were their email exchanges. Naturally I didn’t bother reading the next books. 0.5 out of 5 stars.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight (Jennifer E. Smith) – The story is about a girl who misses her flight to London and is forced to get on the next flight.  She meets Oliver at the airport and they end up sitting next to each other on the 17 hour plane ride. 3.5 out of 5 stars

The Geography of You and Me (Jennifer E. Smith) – I enjoyed TSPOLAFS so I decided to read another one of Jennifer Smith’s books. The stories are pretty similar.  Lucy and Owen live in the same building but they’ve never talked to each other before, until they get stuck in an elevator together due to a blackout.  3.5 out of 5 stars

On the Fence (Kasie West) – Cute story of how a tomboyish girl starts to fall in love with the boy next door. A little similar to That Boy, so I enjoyed it.  4 out of 5 stars

Ugly Love (Colleen Hoover) – Very angsty, but I enjoyed it. 3.5 out of 5 stars

Scoring Wilder (R.S. Grey) – I liked the idea behind the story, but the characters were so childish.  This had really high ratings too so I was disappointed.  1.5 out of 5 stars

Don’t Look Back (Jennifer L. Armentrout) – I like her books, whether she’s writing as Jennifer Amentrout of J. Lynn.  Enjoyed this one a lot. Maybe I should start reading more mysteries. 4.5 out of 5 stars

Thirteen Reasons Why (Jay Asher) – This kept popping up on my recommendations so I finally decided to read it.  I avoided it at first because it’s a story centered on suicide, something I wasn’t too keen about, but it was actually interesting. I like the way it was written, but I did get bored a few times while reading this. 3.5 out of 5 stars

Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card) – I read this due to a misunderstanding. Brinks and I were trading book recommendations and I could have sworn she told me she loved this. We normally have the same taste in books so I decided to read it.  I barely made it through this one because the story was so confusing. I wanted to give up so many times, but I figured if Brinks enjoyed it, I should at least finish it.  After I was done I texted her to talk to her about the book, only to discover she’s never read it!  I know that this is a pretty popular classic, but it’s not for me. I think boys would enjoy this more. 1.5 out of 5 stars

Just Listen (Sarah Dessen) – Sarah Dessen’s pretty a popular contemporary romance write but unfortunately I didn’t  like this that much. 2.5 out of 5 stars

Present Perfect (Alison G. Bailey) – Another popular book on Goodreads that I didn’t enjoy. I think it’s because it’s targeted towards young teenage girls. It was so frustrating how two people who obviously care about each other just won’t get together. 1.5 out of 5 stars

Broken series (Kimberly Lauren) – There are three books in the series (Beautiful Broken Rules, Beautiful Broken Mess and Beautiful Broken Promises).  I liked the first one a lot. The second one not so much because they took a character that was portrayed as a bitch in the first book and centered the story around her. The third book was pretty good. 4 out of 5 stars

Broken and Screwed (Tijan) – Another book with high ratings and good summary, but I couldn’t get over the author’s writing style. I abandoned this after a few chapters in. 0 out of 5 stars

Tangled (Emma Chase) – I liked this one a lot. Very cute and funny.  It reminded me of Julie James’s novels. 4.5 out of 5 stars

Frigid (J. Lynn, Jennifer L. Armentrout) – I know I mentioned earlier that I liked  Jennifer Amentrout/J. Lynn’s books, but this is probably one of the few exceptions. I liked the idea of Sydney and Kyler together, but I didn’t enjoy the plot. 2 out of 5 stars

Bossypants (Tina Fey) – The first (and only) audiobook I’ve “read”.  I tried reading the ebook last year but I never finished it.  I guess I prefer novels over memoirs. It was funny and interesting though. 3.5 out of 5 stars

Remember Trilogy (T. Torrest) – I liked the first book, the second one was okay, and I barely made it through the third one. Overall I give the series 2.9 out of 5 stars

Full Measures (Rebecca Yarros) – A new adult romance about a girl who’s father died during military service, and she finds comfort in her highschool crush. 4 out of 5 stars

Reclaiming the Sand (A. Meredith Walters) – A story about how friendship and love develops between Ellie, a bully, and Flynn, a boy with Asperger’s.  I thought this was interesting. 3.5 out of 5 stars

Sweet Evil (Wendy Higgins) – Book one of the Sweet Trilogy.  I  missed reading Urban Fantasies and Paranormal Romance so I gave this a try. I probably should have chosen something else though. This would have appealed to me back in middle school or highschool, but now it just seems childish.  I didn’t bother finishing it. 1 out of 5 stars

Tears of Tess (Pepper Winters) – One of the most memorable books I read this year.  It deals with kidnapping and sex slavery.  The main character, Tess, goes on a vacation with her boyfriend in Mexico, where she is kidnapped and sold as a sex slave.  The book has a lot of graphic details. It’s horrible and sometimes I forget that this is something that is really happening in the world.  I probably won’t read the next books, but this one will stick with me for a long time. 4 out of 5 stars

First Comes Love (Katie Kacvinsky) – A story about a dark, brooding guy and a bubbly girl. I think she’s meant to be charming but personally, I wouldn’t want a girlfriend like her – she’s too carefree about life. But I do understand how she can be a breath of fresh air to someone like Gray. 4.8 out 5 stars

Dearest Clementine (Lex Martin) – Book 1 of the Dearest series. Clementine is against dating, but she’s forced to write a romantic novel for one of her college classes. Gavin, an RA in one of the dorms, volunteers to help her by acting out some scenarios with her. 4.5 out of 5 stars

Finding Dandelion (Lex Martin) – Second book in the Dearest series.  This one is centered on Clementine’s brother, Jax. I enjoyed this one too but not as much as the first one. 4 out of 5 stars

Puddle Jumping (Amber L. Johnson) – Another love story which involves a boy with Asperger’s.  3.5 out of 5 stars

Third Degree (Julie Cross) – Cute love story that stars an awkward medical prodigy.  Isabelle goes back to college to develop some social skills where she meets her hot RA, Marshall. 4 out of 5 stars

Still Life with Strings (L.H. Cosway) – This is about a girl who poses as a statue for a living, and a violinist who is linked to her past.  The blurb was interesting but the book was a little boring for me.  2 out of 5 stars

Willing Captive (Belle Aurora) – I decided to give Belle Aurora another try. I liked this one better than Raw. 4 out of 5 stars

Black Lies (Alessandra Torre) – My favorite book for the year.  I wrote a review on it which you can read HERE. I’m not going to say anything else except GO READ THIS BOOK!  5 out of 5 stars

Hopeless (Colleen Hoover) – Another book that keep popping up in my recommendations. I normally like Colleen Hoover’s work but this was a bit of a disappointment. 2 out of 5 stars

Stepbrother Dearest (Penelope Ward) – Can’t believe I finished this. 0.5 out of 5 stars

Touch of Frost (Jennifer Estep) – First book in the Mythos Academy series.  Again, I was craving some urban fantasies and this looked promising. It was okay, but I’m not too excited about reading the 2nd book. 3 out of 5 stars

Broken at Love (Lyla Payne) – A typical New Adult romance. Didn’t enjoy it that much. 2.5 out of 5 stars

According to Goodreads, I read 82 books in 2014.  I read the most books (14) in July – probably because that’s when Typhoon Glenda hit us and we didn’t have electricity for a week.  I didn’t have anything else to do but read during that time.

Leave a Reply

