Los Angeles County Museum of Art

During our trip to California last year, Kurt took Ezra and me to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA).  We were pretty excited because we’ve seen this place appear on different TV shows and YouTube videos, so it was a treat to be able to visit it ourselves.

(Just a little note, despite posting lots of photos on my Flickr and doing the 52-week project, I don’t really have that much experience with art. I enjoy good art like a regular person and I respond positively to visually appealing things but I don’t have that much knowledge on the subject. That being said, don’t expect a commentary on the different pieces we saw this day, because then all you’ll be getting are different variations of “it’s nice” or “I didn’t like it”.)

IMG_3308

IMG_3314

IMG_3316

IMG_3319

IMG_3392

IMG_3319a

The Urban Light exhibit outside the museum. Perhaps one of the most Instagrammed places in LA.  I first saw it in Ryan Higa’s Bromance music video and I thought it was amazing. I was thrilled to see it for myself.IMG_3320 (2)

IMG_3320 (3)

IMG_3521a

IMG_3349

Of course Kurt shot lots of footage of us there

IMG_3324

IMG_3371

And I took lots of pictures

IMG_3327

IMG_3334

IMG_3344

IMG_3353

IMG_3368

Kurt joked that we could have saved money by not buying tickets since all we wanted to play here. But of course we did pay for the entrance fee so we headed in the museum to enjoy the art exhibits there.  I didn’t take that many pictures inside, but here are few I managed to capture:

IMG_3395

IMG_3404

IMG_3408

IMG_3411

 Awesome samurai armor

IMG_3417

 Not really sure what he is, but I took a picture because he reminded me of our dachshund, Bubu 🙂

IMG_3420

 There was an empty glass case so Ezra pretended to be part of the display

My favorite exhibit were these little sculptures called netsuke. They were used during the ancient Japanese period as a button to fasten a small pouch to the kimono. They were often hand carved from ivory, wood, metal or ceramics.

IMG_3429

IMG_3428

IMG_3431

 Look at the details on this. To give you an idea how small they were, that’s my blurry thumb in the foreground.

IMG_3437

IMG_3443

IMG_3445

IMG_3446

IMG_3447

IMG_3455

 With Ezra’s head, again for size comparison

IMG_3457

IMG_3464

IMG_3470

 After this we dropped by the Latin America Art exhibit, which I also enjoyed (mostly because of all the bright colors)

IMG_3480

IMG_3482

IMG_3483

IMG_3490

There were also a lot of religious artworks there

IMG_3494

IMG_3496

IMG_3497

IMG_3498

 And lots of lovely jewelry

IMG_3500
IMG_3499

I would love to own this necklace

IMG_3502

IMG_3506

 Ezra next to some panel board things.  I’m not sure what they were for though

IMG_3508

 And I’m not sure what Ezra’s trying to do with them either

IMG_3478

We then checked out a light exhibit.  Photography wasn’t allowed inside, but here’s a picture of the pretty lights they had in the cafeteria where we had lunch:

IMG_3509

 After eating, we took a few videos near the fountains outside before walking to the La Brea Tar Pits next door.  We were actually there last year so we didn’t go inside, but we did enjoy just hanging out in the area and watching kids run around.

To end this entry here’s a video that Kurt made from this day. Warning : it includes lots of spinning around and crazy running 😀

We filmed the sunroof scenes at my aunt’s neighborhood.  We got a lot of weird stares from her neighbors, but we had a lot of fun.  We were lucky that we were able to film this when we did, because about a month later they installed speed bumps there. (In case you’re wondering, we were trying to copy some scenes from Ryan Higa’s Bromance video, which you can hear playing in the blooper reel at the end.)

Leave a Reply

