Burning sand and freezing water! (Zuma and Playa Del Rey beach)

This entry’s almost a year late, but I suppose it’s alright since I’ve been seeing loads of pictures of my friends at the beach lately.  Our summer break doesn’t start until June, and by then the rainy season will be here.  I’m hoping that my friends and I will be able to schedule a trip to beach before that happens, but if that doesn’t push through then at least I have these photos from last year 😄

Kurt took us to two different beaches during our California trip last summer.  Our first one was Zuma Beach in Malibu.

IMG_0160

 We spent the night at W Hotel in Hollywood because Kurt won a free night stay there from his company’s Christmas party

IMG_0164

IMG_0181

 Such a “California” photo – convertibles and selfies

IMG_0184

On the way to the beach we saw lots of houses up on the mountains

IMG_0187

I joked that these were all Tony Stark’s houses (because it looks a lot like the area where he lives  in the movies).  Kurt pointed out that he lives in Malibu so it’s not such a crazy thought

IMG_0199

We got there pretty early so there were still lots of parking spaces along the side of the roadIMG_0208

IMG_0209

We expected it to be warm at the beach, but it was actually quite cold.  Ezra didn’t want to take off her jacket and sarong.

IMG_0213

Kurt wanted some “idol DVD” footage, unfortunately he was stuck with us as models, so it didn’t have quite the same feel 😄

IMG_0228

Still, he had a lot of fun shooting Ezra running around the beach

IMG_0267

IMG_0271

I was excited to go swimming and get some underwater footage with the GoPro, but the water was too cold.  I tried going in up to where the water reached my knees but I lost circulation in my toes.  (It’s the same feeling I get in my hands when I hold a piece of ice for too long.)  There was no way we were going to be able to swim at that temperature so we ended up just playing on the shore.

IMG_0284

We took turns burying each other in the sand

IMG_0294

We only stayed until noon because we didn’t want to get too sunburned.  We didn’t have a beach umbrella and the only shaded area available was right next to the lifeguard’s station.  They allowed us to stay there the entire morning, but we were asked to move around 11am.  We took that as our sign to leave.

The second beach we went to during our trip was Playa Del Rey Beach.  This was a last minute thing that we squeezed in on our final weekend there.

IMG_4298

The water was still too cold to go swimming but at least my toes didn’t freeze this time

IMG_4300

IMG_4314

I was even brave enough to run into some waves a couple of times

IMG_4320

This was when my 20th self portrait for 2014 was taken.

IMG_4333

Ezra had fun splashing around the shore as well

IMG_4311

Kurt took random videos of us as usual.

IMG_4360

IMG_4383

 

IMG_4390

I knew I wasn’t going to swim since the water was too cold so I didn’t bother bringing a swimsuit this time.  I just came wearing my workout clothes.

IMG_4392

IMG_4397

Aside from burying each other in the sand again, we passed our time just sitting around and munching on some snacks

IMG_4403

Ezra found these root beer float Chips Ahoy cookies at Target the day before and we decided to try them out.  They were a little weird at first but they grew on us.

IMG_4406

One of my favorite snacks from that summer – honey mustard and onion pretzel pieces 😀

IMG_4408

We also consumed this huge bag of Ruffles Hot Wings

To burn off some of the calories, we agreed to run like crazy along the beach for Kurt’s video:

IMG_4419

IMG_4428

I had to keep my shoes on while I ran because the sand was scalding hot!

IMG_4431

 Kurt had to stop filming every couple of seconds to give his feet a break.  (He couldn’t wear his slippers and run at the same time because they kept falling off his feet)

IMG_4409

Checking the footage

IMG_4413

IMG_4415

IMG_4449

 Ezra’s turn

IMG_4453

Poor Kurt

IMG_4457

IMG_4459

At least you didn’t step on tar this time (I did though T__T)

IMG_4467

 All for the sake of good footage

Here are some more shots I took of the beach:IMG_0299

 Despite the water being freezing, there were actually a few people who were brave enough to dive in.  I noticed that most of them wore wetsuits though

IMG_0300

IMG_0305

IMG_0306

IMG_0315

IMG_4484

IMG_4486

To end this entry, here’s the video that Kurt made from our trip.  You’ll see lots of footage of Ezra and me running and spinning around like crazy people here, but we had a lot of fun doing it.  The music video part is only about 3 1/2 minutes long and the rest of the video just vlog footage of how we spent our time at the beach:

Leave a Reply

