INSTABITS : May 2015

May was an extremely busy and eventful month for me.  Besides having loads of things to do at work because of the end of the semester, I also struggled through some very personal issues.  This month made me realize how important it is to have people who will be there for you to support you and believe in you.

During the past years, May would be the time when we would go on vacation because of the summer break, but due to the shift in academic calendar, classes and exams are still ongoing.  However, we didn’t let that stop us from going out occasionally and enjoying the sun.

I kicked the month off with a trip to Laiya with Ma’am Chrys, Sir Marvs and Dustin. (Blog entry HERE, and you can watch the video I made HERE.)

We didn’t have resort reservations so we hopped around until we found one that could accommodate us.  We ended up at the Virgin Beach Resort (which was also where my friends and I went to back in 2013)

Needless to say we took lots of pictures during our outing

We learned that overnight guests can use the resort’s kayaks for free, yay!

Back at the office, Sir Taps, Dustin and I somehow found ourselves all wearing blue on the same day

This month my mom received an award for being an Outstanding San Pableño.  Yay!  We’re proud of you Mama!

The Physics Fair was also held this month.  Here’s a class picture with my C5L and EF6L students during the event.  It was extremely hot that day, but our students seemed to enjoy the games.

My EF6L class rented this pedicab for their game

(Grabbed this from Dustin’s IG.) After the students were briefed and the field was set up, I spent the rest of the time hiding in the shade with Dustin and Sir Taps.

Here’s an old photo of my mom and me which I posted for Mother’s Day.

My parents celebrated their 31st wedding anniversary this month, so I shared this old photo of them in their first apartment.

An LBC delivery man walked in my office one day with this huge box from Proctor and Gamble. It contained a flat iron, an epilator, an ionic brush and about a year’s supply of razors and razor heads.  I haven’t talked about it here on my blog, but earlier this year I was informed that someone stole a photo I took and entered it into a contest. The person who submitted it ended up winning first place with an amazing prize of a vacation worth 5000 Euros. I alerted the organizers (Gillette Venus UK) of the fraud and they eventually sorted it out. They sent me this for my troubles. (You can see the Facebook thread HERE)

To celebrate my parents’ 31st wedding anniversary, our family went on a cruise around Japan and Korea.  We arrived in Japan two days before our cruise started because we wanted time to explore Tokyo by ourselves.

We took a train from our hotel to Akihabara, where I found Summoners War, yay! (Since I wasn’t sure if I would have internet in Japan, I asked Raffy to babysit my account for me while I was gone 😄  Thanks Wapeh!)

We also stopped by Shibuya to say hello to Hachiko 🙂

And of course we had to drop by Harajuku to go shopping.  Our legs were pretty sore by this point so we stopped by one of the cafes there to rest for a while.

The hotel we stayed at in Yokohama was only a 5-minute walk from the largest Chinatown in Asia.

On our third day in Japan, we boarded the Diamond Princess for our 6-day cruise.  Ezra and I were thrilled because we had such an amazing time on the Golden Princess last year, so we were extremely happy that we had the chance to go on another Princess cruise.  This photo was taken during the formal evening on the ship.

The ship organized a Kimono session for the guests one afternoon.  Of course we grabbed the chance to go and try on some lovely yukatas.

We also had a blast during the balloon drop party that the ship had one evening.  They released hundreds of balloons from two floors above while we were dancing, and we all dove in to grab them.  It was chaotic but so much fun 😀

My mom and I were standing on deck when we spotted this huge fluffy dog at the Shimizu port, so we rushed off the ship to take pictures with him (we were docked of course).  His owner was very nice and even told me to hug him for the shot.

Our cruise took us mostly around Japan, but we did spend one day in Busan, Korea.  We stopped by Gwangbok Ro (Busan’s shopping street) where I stocked up on face masks and beauty products (see my haul HERE).

It was there that I found the cutest Etude House ever!

Ezra and I went on a quest to find our Korean hubbies.  Here was have hubby #1.

And hubby #2. We also found my husbando in Japan (Yamapiiiiii), but I wasn’t able to get a picture with him because he was on the other side of the tracks at the train station.

On our last night at the ship, we decided to try Movies Under The Stars.  We’ve wanted to do this ever since our Golden Princess cruise last year, but it was always too cold.  It was still a bit chilly this evening, but much better compared to Alaska’s frigid temperatures.

After 6 glorious days, it was time for us to say goodbye to the Diamond Princess (and all the people on board T__T). Till we meet again. Thanks for all the wonderful memories (*wink wink*)

When I returned to the office after our cruise, I found this huge banner waiting for me above my table, courtesy of Dustin 😀

I made it back from my trip in time to have one last lab class with my Physics 3 EF6L students.  I’m going to miss these guys.

As I mentioned earlier, I went through some personal issues this month.  I mostly kept them to myself and didn’t tell my friends until I felt like I was ready to talk.  When I finally opened up, they were there to offer me comfort and support. Aprille, Camille and I had a nice long talk over ice cream one evening.  (Brinks and I talked over cheesecake, but I don’t think we took pictures that evening.)

Obligatory selfie in the car on the way to San Pablo for my mom’s celebration dinner

Group photo with the cousins after the party. Lance was there too, but he left early and we didn’t start taking pictures until later.

Dustin, Amie and I found a shirt that said “TODAY I WILL DO ABSOLUTELY NOTHING” at Robinson’s Department Store, and we decided that the perfect time to wear it would be after the last day of classes 🙂

Since Sir Taps wasn’t present the first two times we held a baking session at our place, we scheduled another one this month, yay!

The girls and I have been trying to find a common time to go to the beach together since late March, and this month it finally happened.  We went to The Circle Hostel in San Felipe, Zambales.  We planned on going surfing but unfortunately there were only a handful of surf instructors and they weren’t able to squeeze us in.  Nevertheless, we had a lot of fun playing on the beach and fighting the waves 🙂  You can view the video I made for our trip HERE.


I grabbed this photo from Aprille’s IG

And this one from Moy’s IG.

I love these girls 🙂

Normally my last post  would be a collage of books I read during the month, but because May has been so jam-packed with activities, I only managed to finish three books. And out of those three, I only really liked one of them, so I figured I would just skip the book collage for now.

That concludes this month’s Instagram dump.  Despite a couple of rough bumps along the way, I would say that May has been fairly good to me.  There were some unpleasant and devastating moments, but I believe that things happen for a reason.  Big changes and important decisions were involved, but I have faith that everything will work out of for the best.   And I learned that I can always turn to the people who care about me to help me get through moments of sadness and sorrow.  (I also learned that having really crazy dance parties in the privacy of your room is a great way to shake off negative emotions :D)

Leave a Reply

