Week 36/52 : Old ways won’t open new doors

My parents and I went to Cintai Corito’s Garden last weekend for my mom’s birthday (blog entry HERE). The place was BEAUTIFUL! It was Bali-inspired and they had a lot of beautiful murals and huge doors with intricate carvings. I grabbed the opportunity to take several self portraits because the place was so picturesque.

This was our first family vacation without my sister, and I felt a little lonely. I missed having someone to escape with and share jokes with. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy my parent’s company, but it’s not the same as having my sister there with me. Also, Ezra usually helps me out with my self portaits during family trips and this time I had to rely on my parents. I’m not really creative with my poses and Ezra usually helps me out with that, so that was something I missed a lot during this trip. I felt a little awkward posing in front of other people, even if they were my parents. But I sucked it up and managed to get a couple of shots I liked 🙂

The door in this photo is HUGE, but I couldn’t fit the whole thing in the frame since I was using my 50mm lens. Here’s one that our guide took of us where you can see how big it is:

The quote I chose for this week’s portrait is a reminder for me to step out of my comfort zone. Like Einstein said, insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. If I want changes in my life, then I’m going to have to start choosing different paths and opening new doors.

2 thoughts on “Week 36/52 : Old ways won’t open new doors

  1. Pingback: Week 40/52 : Quiescence | What I have shown you is reality ...

  2. Pingback: Staycation at Cintai Corito’s Garden | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

