Week 2/52 : A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle

I shot this for the group 52 Weeks of 2016. This week’s theme was “Ghetto Lighting”, which basically meant we had to use some sort of artificial light in our photo (strobes were not allowed). I immediately knew that I wanted to use candles in my shot so I gathered a few and went to work. My parents are away this week so I decided to set up in their room instead of mine since it’s more spacious. It’s a good thing our neighbors can’t see into my parents room otherwise they would have probably come to the conclusion that I was doing some sort of satanic ritual.

I’m really happy with how this image turned out, especially since this is one of those rare shots where I did minimal editing. I mostly adjusted the tones, darkened some areas and duplicated some candles (I only had about 8 available). I know that it’s only the second week of 2016 but I think it’s safe to say that this will probably be one of my favorite shots this year 🙂

(Quote in the title is by James Keller)

One thought on “Week 2/52 : A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle

  1. Pingback: INSTABITS : January 2016 | What I have shown you is reality ...

Leave a Reply

