Week 17/52 : Soleil

You could probably tell that I’ve been having a lot of fun with wigs lately, since this is my 5th self portrait this year wearing one. I ordered 4 wigs from eBay earlier this year and I’ve been loving them (although I’ve only worn 3 of them in my 52-week project). I ordered another 3 recently and I can’t wait for them to arrive. Most wigs on eBay are around 600-2000 PHP, but I’ve seen them go for as low as 250PHP. I’ve been getting the cheaper wigs so I don’t feel too guilty about buying so many at once. I don’t really need the expensive wigs since I don’t really plan on wearing them out, I mostly just bought them for my self portraits.

I love how the lighting in this photo turned out. To get this shot I found a patch of sunlight near our garden and stood there to have that glowing effect, while I kept my camera in our garage. Again, I had a hard time since I was using my 50mm f/1.8 lens, so more than half of my shots were out of focus, and I was sweating bullets by the time I managed to get a shot I liked. I had huge droplets of sweat running down my back and my legs because I was standing in direct sunlight in the middle of summer, all for the sake of a good photo. But I think it was all worth it, don’t you? The only thing I wish I could change about this photo is my expression – I wish I looked a little happier.

Leave a Reply

