INSTABITS : September 2016

October’s almost over so once again this entry is extremely late. This past month has been quite busy, but now I have a bit of free time to finally finish editing this.

This was taken late August when the girls and I checked in at the Crimson Hotel to celebrate Camille’s and my birthdays. You can watch our vlog HERE.

Camille invited Dustin and me to join LBDH’s fun run called #HugotTakbo. It was my first 5k run and I’m happy to report that I survived.

As a birthday gift, my parents signed us up for a short cruise around Japan and Taiwan (watch the vlog here). One of the places we went to was the Shuri Castle in Okinawa.

One of the things that made our trip much more fun was that Brinks was able to join us😀

We signed up for tours but they were cancelled because there were only a few of us on the cruise who spoke English. The staff suggested that we join their Mandarin tour but we decided it would be better if we just explore the town ourselves. This turned out to be a blessing because we were able to spend as much time as we want shopping on Kokusai Street🙂

Since this cruise was meant to celebrate my birthday, the Canaletto dining staff presented me with a cake for dinner. Brinks also got one too since she justified her expenses for this trip by convincing herself that it was a late birthday present for herself😄

Our cruise also took us to Ishigaki where we once again shopped for local delicacies

On the last day of our cruise we joined the balloon drop party at the Piazza

Our cruise ended in Taiwan. Since our flight wasn’t until that evening we made arrangements with a tour company to show us around some famous locations. Here’s Brinky and me at Yehliu Geopark. It was beautiful but extremely hot!

We also dropped by the Chiang Kai Shek memorial hall

Brinks and I ended up wearing the same colors that day. (No, we didn’t plan this)

This, on the other hand, was planned. Sir Taps texted us one evening and asked us to wear blue with white sneakers.

Apparently one of our pastimes at the office is to take selfies with people who are busy. The photo at the top was taken in 2014 when Ma’am Chrys was busy preparing for a meeting, and the bottom photo was taken when I was rushing to finish checking lab reports for my next class.

Last month Raf invited me to watch a musical based on Rizal’s Noli Me Tangere. It was pretty good. I don’t remember the plot from when I read the book in highschool so I turned to Wikipedia to give me a summary, which helped me appreciate the play more.

Camille, Brink and I watched Train To Busan together at SM Calamba last month. Normally I stay away from zombie movies (they scare me) but I guess they’re not too bad when you’re watching it with friends. We spent most of the movie laughing over the outrageous reactions people in the cinema had over some of the scenes.

Sir Taps, Dustin, Jerome and I decided to try The Right Food for lunch one day. The food tasted fine but their servings were tiny and we left the place still feeling hungry.

Brinks taught me to send myself postcards from the locations I visit. That way, even weeks after my trip, I get a pleasant reminder of the good times I had when they arrive. I managed to mail 4 postcards to myself during our Mediterranean Cruise last July. Three of them arrived last August and the Santorini one finally arrived last month. Strange, considering it was the first one I sent.

I also sent myself a postcard from Taiwan. The other one came from Brinky.

I invited Amie and Jason to go jogging with me one afternoon and we found this freedom wall. We decided to join in and leave a bit of ourselves behind😄

Raffy’s visiting the Philippines this month. He sometimes visits me at the office so we can have lunch together.

Ezra sent her birthday gift to me through Raffy. I absolutely love the dress she chose for me❤ And the bag’s pretty adorable too.

Dustin introduced me to Solitas Farm Diner last month. I tried their fish cakes which were pretty good but I prefer their mushroom tempura.

Overall my birth month turned out to be pretty amazing. I tried new things, visited new places, spent time with old friends and made a new one. I must say, these last few months have been pretty great. I’m praying that 2016 won’t lose momentum and this keeps up all the way to 2017 (and hopefully even beyond that).

Leave a Reply

