INSTABITS : June 2017

Now that midyear classes are finally over, and I’ve finished computing my students’ grades, I have some free time to update my blog. I can’t believe it’s already the middle of July. The first half of 2017 went by in a blink of an eye.

I started the month off by going to UPD to pick up some documents. Afterwards I went to Eastwood to meet Raf for dinner. Since I had a few hours to kill before he got off work, I decided to try the famous black froyo from BLK513. They had so many flavors of syrup and toppings to choose from that I had a hard time picking one, but in the end I went with the strawberry cheesecake which was pretty good.

Raf and I went to Tagaytay one weekend and we decided to check out Museo Orlina. There were lots of intricate glass sculptures and interesting pieces inside (you can see some of them in my IG stories video at the end of this entry).

Beautiful view from Tagaytay

Wall art at The Lake District where we had lunch. We need more of this in our lives 🙂

Spiced fries with ice cream and chocolate. It’s like appetizer and dessert mixed together

Tio Ben passed away last month. He went very quickly and quietly so we’re thankful that he didn’t suffer. The wake was held at my aunt’s place in Tanauan and his funeral mass was at St.John The Evangelist Parish. Goodbye Tio Ben, we will miss you.

I started reading Rick Warren’s “Habits of Happiness” and I thought this passage was worth sharing. I’m a chronic complainer and it’s about time I start trying to break the habit. It also referred me to this verse which came at a perfect time :

Do everything without grumbling or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.” Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky
Philippians 2:14‭-‬15

This was another verse that came to me at the perfect moment. There were several instances this month when I worried so much about something that I actually had a hard time sleeping at night. I’m grateful that God never failed to remind me to relax and to just trust Him.

 

I posted this photo of my dad and Ezra for father’s day. It was taken during our cruise to Malaysia last February

After the source of my stress had passed, my parents and I celebrated at The Boiling Seafood. Hooray for extremely supportive parents ❤

Reply 1988 ❤ Amie has been trying to convince me to watch this Kdrama for months now, and I finally gave in. I understand why she loves it now, because one episode in and I was hooked. I love how the story was centered on friendship and relationships between friends and family members. I finished it weeks ago and I still can’t get over how good it was. I’m actually re-watching it right now. Thanks for the recommendation Amie!

I loved everything about Reply 1988, including the soundtrack ❤ I managed to get hold of the sheet music for Hyehwadong (Ssangmundong) so I decided to learn how to play it on the piano

June is always a special month for my dad, because aside from Father’s Day, we also celebrate his birthday. I posted this photo of him on his special day. I’m so blessed to have a very supportive father who is always there for me, even when it comes to my self portraits. This was taken while I was trying to shoot a photo (with my mom’s help of course). My dad was there to suggest locations, carry my belongings and even act as a stand-in model when I want to show my mom what kind of composition I want for my photo 😂 Thanks Daddy!

To make his birthday even more special, my parents, Ninang and I went to Stilts Resort in Calatagan, Batangas

It was a beautiful place and the cottage they gave us had a wonderful view of the beach

There were so many scenic places to take photos at the resort. I especially loved all the flowers there, so of course I took some self portraits with them. (I also took several self portraits around the resort, which hopefully I’ll be able to post in the upcoming weeks).

That concludes June’s Instagram posts. This entry’s pretty short but I can assure you that next month will be photo-heavy 😀  I’m expecting lots of IG posts these coming weeks.

As usual, you can find a compilation of my IG stories for the month in the video below:

2 thoughts on “INSTABITS : June 2017

  1. Hello Carmi-enjoyed your family’s japan cruise. In fact we booked that japan-korea cruise as well. Question-do we need to get a Korean visa for this cruise? What is the visa requirement? Thank you and regards.
    Our travel is vague on this

    • Hi Dexter. Sorry for the late reply, I didn’t notice your comment earlier. We had to get a Korean visa for this cruise. But I read online that Korea offers visa-free entries to certain countries so it depends where you’re from I think.

Leave a Reply

